“Gooba Gooba Gooba Gooba”: Songs for Baby

Laughing and dancing on the Chic-a-go-go set.

Laughing and dancing on the Chic-a-go-go set.

I can’t carry a note to save my life. Unlike my mom, I won’t be entertaining Ollie with my mad piano skills or singing him sweet lullabies with the voice of an angel. Not to mention, I came of age to punk rock, so I relate more to the imperfect vocal stylings of Tom Waits, Patti Smith and Johnny Rotten.

But, I LOVE singing, dancing and making up goofy rhymes (and non-rhymes) to sing (?) to Ollie. I also LOVE discovering nonsensical and otherwise goofy (read: innocent) songs to sing and play for Ollie. I gave those “Rockabye Baby! CDs a fair shot. They were a bit of a letdown. The Ramones one was a flatline version of their trademark loud and fast two minute songs.

Good news: I’m making my own baby mixes for future dance parties and sing-alongs. Here’s what I have so far:

“Gooba Gooba Gooba”: A Mix Tape for Cool Kids Vol. 1

1. “Don’t You Just Know it”: Huey “Piano” Smith (This is where the “gooba, gooba, gooba, gooba” lyrics are from)

2. “Bumble Bee Tuna Song”: Mephiskapheles

3. “Rock Lobster”: B-52s

4. “Coconut “: Harry Nilsson

5. “Banana Boat (Day-O)”: Harry Belafonte

6. “Beans And Cornbread”: Louis Jordan

7. “Peaches”: The Presidents of the United States of America

8. “1, 2, 3, 4”: Feist

9. “I Ain’t Got No Home”: Clarence “Frogman” Henry

1 Response to ““Gooba Gooba Gooba Gooba”: Songs for Baby”


  1. 1 katiekw November 11, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    love gooba gooba, never heard it before. Nay and I were just rockin out in the car to “peaches”. It’s a helluva singalong. after years of being anti-radio, I find myself shamelessly loving it lately.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


