The Bulb Syringe: A Favorite Non-Toy Toy

bulb-syringe

Ollie's favorite toy.

I’ve mentioned this phenomenon before. I call it the Card Board Box Theory. That weird truism that kids get more mileage out of the box a toy comes in than the actual toy. I can’t tell you how many weeks we had a carboard box house in our living room after Christmas. Cut-out windows and all. Hours of entertainment.

Ollie is no exception. While he hasn’t had access to cardboard boxes yet, he has proved time and again that if it is not a toy, he will love it. The bulb syringe is one of his favorite non-toy toys. It came with a baby first aid kit, so I keep it around, though I’ve only used it a few times. It’s super clean as it gets regularly cleaned with all of the other toys and non-toy toys and I don’t actually use it for booger-removing (my Baby 411 book said they’re not necessary).  It became a thing of comfort when he came down with his first real illness. It was the only thing – toy or otherwise – that soothed him. So I keep it around. And he keeps chewing on it. He’s really sort of enamored with it. I have almost thrown it away a handful of times. But I just can’t.

0 Responses to “The Bulb Syringe: A Favorite Non-Toy Toy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


