In The City

I lived and worked in Chicago for more than seven years, and in that time, I took advantage of everything it offered from music to food and culture to recreation. I loved it so much, in fact, that I published a niche zine dedicated to the amazing independent artists, musicians and businesspeople I met along the way. It’s that independent, DIY spirit that really got me hooked on city living. The colorful people, the global food and style, and even the hustle and bustle or city life continues to capture my spirit, even now that I live in the burbs. I wouldn’t trade raising my family in our beautiful neighborhood for city living, but I definitely have big plans for taking day trips with my family to the landmarks, restaurants and shops that won my heart during my stint in Chicago. I think no matter where you live, it’s important to share the world beyond your neighborhood with your kids whether you take lots of trips to interesting places or simply reading a book about new places with them. These are my favorite city books I like sharing with Ollie:

And some of my recommended indie bookstores for kids of all ages (in Chicago unless otherwise noted):

What are your favorite local bookstores? If you’re an urban family, do you have any “country” books you like reading to your children?

2 Responses to “In The City”


  1. 1 peterwaffles January 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

    These look great! Thanks for sharing and have a super day!

  2. 2 Genevieve Diesing February 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    This is a great post and I couldn’t agree more. I love the used bookstore Shakem Rattle ‘n Read on Broadway in Uptown by the way…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


