Random Mommy Musings

A very rosy-cheeked Ollie with his ABC cookies. The end of a loooong day.

Just put Ollie to bed and poured myself a generous glass of wine. It’s been a long day. Not bad, just long and this wine is hitting the spot. I haven’t first-person mommy blogged for awhile and there’s a lot of ground to cover.

Ollie’s one-year pediatrician visit was today. Coincidentally, he’s come down with a cold and cough in the past 24 hours. Today we found out he also has an ear infection. His second in four months. Otherwise, he’s a super-healthy one-year old. Height, weight and head circumference are all 95 percentile-plus. He’s doing all the great things one year olds do: babble, grab’n’grunt at things, cruise, play and eat, eat, eat. Still, having a sick kid again is really heartbreaking. Like last time, I’m getting the feeling J and I are taking it worse than Ollie. He’s doing pretty well considering getting several shots, giving a blood sample, taking icky meds for his ears and being driven around greater southern McHenry County today.

I decided today would be a great day to take back unwanted baby Christmas presents, which explains why we were all over the county. Would it be totally shitty to tell people from here on out, no department stores or Babies’R’Us? The closest mall is an hour round trip and Babies’R’Us is not only way overpriced, but it’s also a good 45-minute round trip from my house. Also, today I went to a mall for the first time in about two, maybe three years. I felt my soul withering away the moment I pushed through the heavy glass doors, kind of how Walmart makes me feel except Walmart at least promises low prices. Also, the ladies at Macy’s and Kohl’s both treated me like total crap. I decided to be really nice because what did I have to lose? I can’t control others’ bitchiness, but I can control how I react. I know that sounds noble. I secretly wanted to just stab the shit out of their faces.

I’m getting super-stoked about Ollie’s ninja-themed b-day party. We gave ourselves and our families a little break after the holidays by postponing Ollie’s b-day party from the weekend of January 7th to next Saturday. Frankly, it also gives us some time to get our house in order and prepare this awesome ninja-themed party we’ve been dreaming about. Not only are ninjas freakin’ cool, but I’m a long-time admirer of ShawnimalsWee Ninja doll and Ninjatown. I met the toy’s creator Shawn Smith at a music fest we were both working in Chicago during my zinester days. He’s from the burbs, too, now residing in the city. Lots of parallels. Anyway, my big sister/pâtissier Nicholette is going to make Ollie’s ninja cake and baby cake (the one he gets to smash) in the shape of Wee Ninja. Of course, I need to get my order in for a plush toy and soon (supposedly their stock is low). For the party, we’re thinking about getting catered Chinese, some Singha beer and a few colorful paper lantern garlands. Oh yeah, and I scored a party-sized container of fortune cookies today (one down).

Call him Lil Hercules. Last night, Ollie demonstrated his super strength by pushing the ottoman from the family room to the dining room and back. It’s officially on like Donkey Kong.

No more Carters. I’m starting to sound like a total ingrate with my picky taste in clothing, but nothing could be further from the truth. I’m a common-sense mommy. Carters is this name-brand children’s clothing that, OK, is decent quality. But it comes with a price tag. And honestly, the clothes don’t fit Ollie very well. Admittedly, he’s not the average-sized one-year-old, but even the 18 and 24-month clothing fits awkwardly — tight in some places and super huge in others. And considering kids grow so fast, it just doesn’t feel right to spend too much money on clothes.

2 Responses to “Random Mommy Musings”


  1. 1 katiekw January 17, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    carter’s day wear, pretty nerdy – especially for girls. However, in the onesie undershirt department: the only brand that I know that goes up to 24 months and has the elusive long sleeve white onesie necessary to make summer t-shirts work all year round. Also, footy jammies get hard to find after 2, and I can usually find some warm and snugglies there.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


