True Story: My Bigs

What I want is a healthy, happy kid. And I believe I have one. But …

Ollie is off the charts in weight, height and head circumference. So while he’s big, he’s proportionate. And while I don’t want to obsess about the upward trend of his stats – which his doctor pointed out, but said it’s not an immediate cause for concern – I also don’t want to be complacent about it. But I’m a bit at a loss for what to do differently right now or if I even need to. Actually, I know I don’t need to do anything differently. The doctor said not to worry (right now). But there’s a nagging voice in my head that wants me to make damn certain that Ollie never gets fat.

I’m pretty confident I’m doing the right things. We don’t have juice, processed foods or sweets/salty snacks in the house. We just don’t buy these foods. We instead have fresh produce, meats, nuts, cheese, etc. And for the most part, Ollie eats what we eat. I refuse to buy/prepare him “special” food. He doesn’t even know chicken nuggets exist and doesn’t care. He is very active. He is super happy. That is all I could ever ask for.

Still I worry because he’s my only kid and I want to do right by him. I don’t want him to ever struggle with weight. Because it sucks.

0 Responses to “True Story: My Bigs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


