Tee Vee Casualty

I know TV isn’t a babysitter. I know it’s not healthy for kids to stare zombily into the depths of a 2-D lightbox for hours on end. And yes, I know “Baby Einstein” is a crock.

I know. I know. But I have a case for TV.

Ollie is 16 months and some odd weeks old now. There are those days when I REALLY, REALLY have to do some housework, and lately work-work, and need a break. Let’s say I’m in the middle of cleaning the floors and he gets up from a nap. Strategy? Set him up in the highchair with some apple slices, put on some “Yo Gabba Gabba” and work around him. “My name is Ollie and I like to daaaance!”

Same with work. I’m in production with a magazine and have had some freelance work lately, and after work, a little “Dora” allows me to work while Ollie plays and watches programas en español. “Come on vamanos, everybody let’s go!”

I have to hand it to Nick Jr. No commercials, the programing is largely educational and for the most part, it doesn’t assault my  senses as an adult. Though, yes, the songs so get stuck in my head!

Anyway, there’s a time and place for TV when you have a toddler. It was only a few weeks ago that I test-drove this whole children’s TV thing. It is incredibly scary, actually, how kids are drawn to that flickering light, particularly when there is a high-pitched voice coming through the speakers and colorful animations on the screen. The attraction to TV must just be in human DNA. That’s all I can figure.

0 Responses to “Tee Vee Casualty”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


