Er’body Get Random: Twisters, Loteria, Lolz & Comic Sans

And this is the part where I get random …

Do you have a font? Mine is Arial. Point size 14. My friend and former editor-colleague Staci inspired my decision to kick Times New Roman as my default font for writing. Also, it irks me when people say “Can you make the font smaller?” You mean “point size.” They are not the same. This reminds me, someone should make a “What Font Are You?” quiz online. If you’re comic sans, I’m very, very sorry.

How is Kmart still around? I went there on pure intrigue the other day and ended up scratching my head as to why it can still exist when we have clean department stores like Target that don’t smell like sadness and the last thing you see when you leave isn’t a big red stain by the slushee machine. That said, I bought something there that smells like the opposite of sadness and is worth going back for.

Does “being a mom” count as exercise on my “Lose It” app? If so, how many calories do I burn an hour? The boy is keeping us BUSY. He’s tumbling, climbing, sliding, shimmying, repeating words, reciting the alphabet, saying “no” to everything, sipping out of a straw, dancing like a fool, hugging, kissing, jumping, jiving and wailing.

What is your biggest pet peeve when you’re out to dinner? Mine is a three-way tie between a server telling me they “don’t eat the food” when I ask what they recommend; how servers pour on the sugar when they drop off the check; and any place that charges over $5 for a kids meal. On the other hand, I’ve found kindness in the most unlikely of places. Take Dantes, this no-frills fast food joint on Rt. 31 in Algonquin, Ill. Most people do drive-thru. Its gyros, Italian beef, subs and fries are to die for, but it’s kind of a dive. Still, we dined in once and I was blown away by the sunny personalities of the high school girls working there. They gave Ollie a cookie before we left. Being nice to my kid is the direct way to my heart.

When’s the last time  you laughed so hard, whatever you were drinking came back up through your nose? I can’t even say I was drunk, although I was enjoying warm rum and cider, when J got me not once, but twice on Saturday night. I am pretty sure he waits until I have taken a sip of whatever to deliver the punch line. And by the way, cider kind of burns coming out the wrong way.

Are you celebrating National Hispanic Heritage Month? You have a week or so left! A fun way to celebrate with your kids is to play loteria. If they’re old enough to play bingo, they’re old enough to play loteria, which is essentially the same thing, but with Spanish words and pictures instead of numbers and letters. My boy is too little to play, so I put a paper punch hole in the left corner of all of the loteria cards in the deck and used a binder ring to keep them together. We go through the deck together in Spanish and English during story time.

What’s your take on storm chasing? I’m a weather nut. A former future meteorologist. I’d be the president of the Twister Fanclub if there was one. I’m going to see star of “Storm Chasers” Reed Timmer tonight at Harper College in Palatine, Ill., present some never-before-seen chase footage and talk about the new season! In the event that The Dominator is there, I will for sure be mugging for a pic next to it!

2 Responses to “Er’body Get Random: Twisters, Loteria, Lolz & Comic Sans”


  1. 1 Kate October 5, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Georgia is my font! Try it out … it’s awesome.

    I find it interesting that you’re into storm chasing. I thought big storms freaked you out. Am I thinking of someone else?

    • 2 Erica October 6, 2010 at 10:58 am

      No Kate, that’s me! I am freaked out and intrigued. I had tornado dreams all last night after the presentation! I usually get them when I have too much going on. But last night I am very sure it had everything to do with the show.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


