Cool Stuff for the Kid Who Has Everything

I can’t think of a single thing my 21-month-old needs (well, except for some diapers – I have about four left. It’s noted on a Post-It somewhere at the bottom of my purse).

He has toys in his closet form last Christmas and his January birthday earlier this year that haven’t even been opened yet. He’s been sick for the past few days, so I tried cheering him up by breaking open Mr. Potato Head he got for his birthday, but I think he was a little freaked out and feeling too icky to appreciate this classic spud’s fun extremities and accessories.

My mother-in-law took us on a Kohl’s shopping extravaganza in August (she had mad coupons and they were having a crazy-awesome sale), so he has clothes to last him well into next fall.

So what do you get a kid who has – not to sound cliche – but everything?!

Oh, don’t worry. If you’re in the same boat, I’ve got you covered!

Wish list collage for Ollie. Amature design by me.

 

  • Michael Ian Black books. I follow comedian MIB on Twitter – he’s seriously demented and hilarious – my two favorite characteristics in a person. Even better, he’s a children’s book author with three titles: “Chicken Cheeks”, “The Purple Kangaroo” and “A Pig Parade is a Terrible Idea.” Who knew? Do you have a favorite actor or comedian who also writes children’s books?
  • Any book with Oliver in the title. “Oliver” (by Syd Hoff), “Oliver Finds His Way” and “Oliver Who Would Not Sleep ” – they are all different books by different authors. One character is an elephant, one is a bear and one is a boy. I’m sure there are more! I already have a book about Oliver the owl, so these titles would help round out the Oliver collection. See if there are books named after your little one – or make your own!
  • Jumping Beans Li’l Sierra Sandals. A boy my son goes to daycare with wore these all summer and I finally asked his mom where she got them. I searched and searched the Kohl’s site and elsewhere and could neither find them or something similar (that’s what you get for waiting all season). Thankfully, I stumbled back across my Kohl’s bookmark the other day and they came up as available – and on sale! Can’t beat it. I’m buying two pairs!
  • Potty Chair. Wow, potty chairs have come a LONG way with a spectrum of prices, colors and themes. There’s actually a princess chair that looks like a throne with a picture frame on the back of the seat. Really?! I’m going to have to investigate this a little more, but the simple white BabyBjorn chair at $30 seems reasonable. What do you think? Who much did you/would you spend on a training toilet?
  • Weebles! My sisters and I loved Weebles when we were little. My family always jokes around about how upon seeing them when she was little, my oldest sister quipped “No hands, no feet!” It’s nice to see a new generation has the opportunity to wobble Weebles. Do you remember these tiny egg-shaped dudes?
  • Racetrack. I’m sure any brand and style would do. My kid loves his race cars, monster trucks, dump trucks and excavators. I think it’s time he gets to race them.
  • Bead Maze. My son sat and played with his cousin’s bead maze for probably a half hour straight at a recent family gathering (read: a half hour I could sit on my duff not chasing him around!). Circo (Target) makes a nice one for $16. Is there one toy that totally captures your kid’s attention?

We Love ALPHABET STUFF

  • Evgie ABCs. I’ve featured these before in my blog. I just think they’re kind of adorbs. I bought foam rubber bath time ABCs and 123s from Target that ran me about $6 and Ollie LUH-oves them. But I still can’t get these handmade softies out of my head. Actually, I adore everything on Evgie’s site. Go Canadian crafters!
  • Ryan Heshka’s “ABC Spookshow (book). The eerie, pop-art illustrations are right up our alleys. Hope Ollie can appreciate them someday. Do you think the art is too gory for children?
  • The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey. “A is for Amy who fell down the stairs. B is for Basil assaulted by bears. C is for Clara who wasted away. D is for Desmond thrown out of a sleigh.” What’s not to love, right? Or am I totally twisted?!

Can you think of anything else a toddler boy absolutely needs (or would at least love to have)?!

0 Responses to “Cool Stuff for the Kid Who Has Everything”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


