Where I’m From

I am from the rumble of freight trains, the Land of Lincoln, lunch buckets, big shoulders and Statesville.

I am from the brown brick-and-cedar ranch – the one with a seasonal wreath on the front door and a garage perpetually clacking with car projects.

I am from the dooryard violet, tall corn and lush soybean, a glittery metropolis by a great lake.

I am from Gallaghers and Stahoviaks, Geri and Jerry and Mary Lou and Bernie – generous and care-taking, hard-working and driven.

I am from proud Irish farmers and determined Scot-German laborers.

From “walk in like you own the place” and “what can I do to help?”

I am from Catholics, entirely – from parishes like St. Raymond’s, St. Mary’s St. Patrick’s.

From the Guild Ship Lucy to Manhattan, Ill., corned beef and cabbage, and draught beer.

I am from the wood-paneled living room walls dotted with family portraits, vintage Coca-Cola ads and owl art. I am from the trippy apple wallpaper in the kitchen on Galena Drive; gold shag carpet, olive green appliances, the forbidden fronch room. I am from fire and famine and depression and war. I am from kitsch and love food and Duct Tape and fast cars. I am from the very best.

Well, that was a lot of fun. Thanks Kate, for the inspirational blog, and Fred First for the template. Your turn.

5 Responses to “Where I’m From”


  1. 1 Jessica August 25, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    I just realized I’m not really sure where I’m from. I should probably figure that out before I bring this child into the world only to tell them I know zero about their history. I’ve got until Feb 2012…

  2. 3 Meri Glade August 25, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    I love this more than I can say! I am from this too…

  3. 5 Aunt Nichole August 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Holding back tears, because I’m from this too! Well said, well written…baby girl.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email addy to subscribe.

Join 21 other followers

Bettie Page Kids Clothing

140-Character Musings

Archives


